Facebook Twitter Google +1     Admin


What is an amphibian?

An amphibian is an animal that lives part of its life in the water and part on land.  Many amphibians begin life with gills to breathe in the water and then develop lungs as they get older. 

What are the stages of the frog’s life cycle?

Eggs:  Frogs lay thousands of eggs that do not have shells.  They are covered with a jelly-like substance that helps protect them from being eaten by creatures in the water.  The eggs stick together to form frog-spawn that floats to the top of the water.  A few days later the tadpoles hatch out.

Tadpoles:  Tadpoles have a head, tail and body.  They live under water and breathe through their gills.  They eat algae and other tiny water plants as they swim.  After about a month, a bulge appears at the base of their tail where their hind legs will grow.  They also begin to grow lungs for breathing. 


Tadpoles to Froglets After seven weeks their hind legs begin to grow.  After nine weeks, front lets grow and their tails are almost gone.  After about twelve weeks the tadpoles can swim to the surface of the water and breathe in air.

Adult Frogs:  After about three months, the tadpoles have become young frogs.  They can live in or out of water and eat insects or worms. 

Click the thumbnail below to see a picture of the frog life cycle.


Something Froggy - Put the pictures in the correct order on this website.
Frog Life Cycle Match - Put the pictures in order. Write a sentence to go with each stage.  (Inspiration template)
Life Cycle Picture - Draw a picture of the frog life cycle.  (KidPix template)
Interactive Quiz - Take this online quiz to see how much you’ve learned about frogs!

Comentarios » Ir a formulario


No hay comentarios

Añadir un comentario

No será mostrado.

Blog creado con Blogia. Esta web utiliza cookies para adaptarse a tus preferencias y analítica web.
Blogia apoya a la Fundación Josep Carreras.

Contrato Coloriuris